The Ex-Boyfriend Yard Sale

February 5-9, 2019
BMO Incubator for Live Arts
The Theatre Centre
Part of the Summerworks PROGRESS Festival
Curated and presented by the red light district in collaboration with Outside the March


Can we turn sentimental value into cold, hard cash?

Haley McGee was on the phone with Visa, promising to pay off her bill by having a yard sale, when she realized all the things she could sell were gifts from her exes. Inspired by this call, The Ex-Boyfriend Yard Sale is a hilarious and daring show about the cost of love… or what love costs us.

The Ex-Boyfriend Yard Sale smashes together personal divulgences, math, recorded interviews with Haley’s exes and economics in a quest to determine what our romantic relationships are actually worth. This autobiographical show features eight objects — all gifts from Haley’s exes — and introduces audiences to a mathematical formula (created by mathematician Melanie Phillips) for the cost of love.

The Progress run will also include several bonus events that expand to conversation around love, money and what it’s all worth. Join us for Haley’s interactive Cost of Love installation, a financial literacy crash-course in partnership with Generator, and the premiere of The Broken Hearts Auction, a one-night only presentation in which audience members can have gifts from their exes appraised and auctioned off.

Production stills by Sophie le Roux.

“★★★★ Joyful, funny, excruciating … A powerhouse performance.”
– The Stage